1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Fun times and the start of school
Saturday, September 28, 2002 - 11:27

So let's see...

Thursday was the first day of classes. I'd been running around for two days because of my stupid job, my stupid dentist, and stupid jury duty. And then all Thursday morning I had to run around for my stupid job some more. I was sweaty all week, not just because of the running around, but also because it was humid/foggy.

The class I had Thursday was interesting. It looks like it will be a good class. However, I think I might drop it, because it looks like a lot of work. However, Mr. Knowitall isn't in it, which is a huge bonus. Also, it's a sociofreptology class, and I've never had a sociofreptology class, and I think I'd like sociofreptology better than plain old (whatever that is) freptology. So I might keep it. I'll have to wait to see who the other people in my other class are. If Mr. Knowitall isn't in the other class, then I'll take that one and drop sociofreptology, but if he is, I'll drop that class and keep sociofreptology. Decisions, decisions. Friend #1 is in sociofreptology, and Friend #2 is in the other class. Also, I know that the other class won't be much work.

Mr. Knowitall was gone all summer, and it was fantastic not having him around. When I walked into the department office first thing Thursday morning, there was Mr. Knowitall in his thongs, cutoff shorts, and thin dirty t-shirt, with a big wispy poof of hair. He saw me and tried to smile at me and ask me how I was and stuff, but I just gave him a weak smile and walked away, into the computer lab, where I saw Friend #2. I said to her with a grimace, "Summer is really over," and she said, "I know, did you see Mr. Knowitall?" and I was all, "Yeah, and that's when it hit me that summer is really over."

Yesterday we experienced students had a meeting with the new students, during which they asked us questions and we gave them valuable advice about the department and stuff. The new students are, well, weird. One of them lives in Hell and is planning to commute two days a week. She's insane and has a pointy pointy face. But I think they're all pretty nice.

Mr. Knowitall didn't go to the meeting. He was in the computer lab. Friend #1, who organized the meeting, said to him afterwards, "Why didn't you go to the meeting?" and he was all, "It's next week," and she was all, "No, not the CAT conference meeting, the new grad student meeting," and he was all, "Oh, I'm sorry, I thought that was happening tonight at the party." But apparently the Slurper told Mr. Knowitall about the meeting right before it started, so Mr. Knowitall was lying to Friend #1.

Last night was the annual party at the home of two of the professors. We got there fashionably late, but apparently Mr. Knowitall had gone swimming in their pool without even saying hello or asking if he could go in the pool.

I got a bit drunker than I'd intended last night. I don't know how it happened, really, because I only remember drinking two glasses of wine. Anyway, I rolled around on the ground once or twice and spilled wine on the sleeves of my new white shirt and my new pale yellow fleece. And when we got home I could barely walk up the stairs. It sucked. I thoroughly enjoy getting buzzed, but I thoroughly unenjoy being wasted.

At least I wasn't slurring, like Friend #2 was though.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019