1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Introduction
Wensday, May 15, 2002 - 9:53

Here's an excerpt from the introduction of my latest book, which is all about how I've always thought I'd write a book, but I never did because I didn't have anything to write about.

All great people have had some huge obstacle in their lives that they've overcome.

I haven't.

I am the unfortunate offspring of happily married parents who didn't beat each other or use drugs or get divorced or die. We were poor, but not terribly so. I wasn't pretty, but I wasn't ugly either. I wasn't terribly popular in school, but I wasn't terribly unpopular either. I peed my pants in second grade, but only one person saw, so it didn't ruin my life. I didn't go blind, I didn't go deaf, I didn't overcome any debilitating illness, I didn't have a learning disorder, I wasn't the victim of discrimination, none of my limbs fell off. I didn't become a druggie, I didn't become famous, I didn't become infamous. I didn't do anything.

I bet you can't wait to read more.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019