1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

What the difference between me and you?
Monday, May 13, 2002 x 2 - 20:29

There are all different kinds of people in the world. And that's a good thing. If everyone were loud and outgoing, no one would ever listen, because they'd be talking all the time. If everyone accelerated all the time and no one yielded, everyone would die in car wrecks.

It has recently come to my attention that I'm not the right kind of person. I'm quiet and reserved. While this used to cause me a great deal of angst, it doesn't anymore. I spent a great deal of time in junior high and high school wishing that I were outgoing, adventurous, affable, and engaging. I'm over it. I can't become someone I'm not. I'm not going to spend my life trying to, and I'm not going to spend my life pretending.

"What I am is what I am, are you what you are, or what?"

Like I said, there are all kinds of people in the world, and I happen to be one kind. It ain't my fault that you don't respect the kind of person that I am, and it's not my fault that you don't respect what I do. You think that going to school is a piece of cake, that I have it easy, that I don't do anything. Go ahead and think that. I don't care anymore.

You don't respect me or my life. But I've always been this way, and it used to be good enough. You knew what I was like when you married me.

Random PJ lyric: ...and though he's too big a man to say...

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019