1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

The CAT conference in all its glory
Sunday, April 28, 2002 - 20:04

I'm totally tired, but I don't really know why. I think I've been getting enough sleep. Maybe it's because I've been getting up early for a whole week.

The conference went really well. Last night we had a party and dude, I had no idea that freptologists could be cool. Granted, there were a few really nerdy ones, the nerdiest of which was Mr. Knowitall. But overall, they were really fun.

Our keynote speaker fucking entertained everyone on the guitar. The man is amazing. One of the other presenters accompanied on piano. They were singing all night long. Together, they knew the words and chords to every song that's been written during the last 40 years. Many people were dancing. Mr. Knowitall was wiggling his bootay all evening, and it was one of the more disgusting things I've seen lately.

Here are the things Mr. Knowitall did not do this weekend: he did not come on time, he did not do the tasks he was supposed to do, and he did not do anything beyond the tasks he was assigned.

Here are the things he did: he listened to pretty much every single talk, he pigged out on all the food that we had set out for the conference attendees, he tried to get it on with one of the presenters, he wore thongs and cutoff jeans and a t-shirt that had been tie-dyed in poop today (but hey, it was casual Sunday), he schmoozed and tried to make "contacts", he told his "contacts" that he was a conference organizer (grr...).

We were so much more organized than last year. I actually got to sit down and watch a few talks. Last year I think I saw two, and those were talks I'd insisted on watching. (Last year Mr. Knowitall was also a flake, btw.)

Tomorrow I'm going to go talk to the deparment chair about Mr. Knowitall. I'm sick of complaining about him all the time, but humor me for a few more paragraphs.

I'm the librarian at school, kay? And we're getting a bunch (like a hundred boxes) of books donated to us. So we have to make room for them. So the department chair started a student library committee to help figure out what to do. And since I'm the librarian, I'm on the committee. And since Mr. Knowitall is Mr. Copycat, he decided to be on the committee too. And since Mr. Knowitall is also Mr. Helpful, he's basically already decided what we're going to do and how we're going to arrange the bookshelves and stuff. Done, decided, annoying, hooray for Mr. Knowitall. But since I'm the librarian, I have to enter all the new books into the database myself. And since this will take a long fucking time to do, I'll need help.

Mr. Knowitall has volunteered to help me.

Fuck that shit.

Seriously.

I will not work with that motherfucker.

He was sort of harrassing one of the Japanese students, and she finally filed a report with the university.

Sorry I complain about him all the time. He's a huge fuckhead, though. You should have seen him dancing last night. It was raunchy. He was like trying to tango with this one girl. Eww.

Last year he and his back hair went swimming at the party. At least he didn't do that this year.

On Friday I got a little tipsy because I drank a little wine after not having eaten all day (because I was organizing a conference and you don't eat until you're sure things are running smoothly). I wanted to get drunk last night, but I had to drive home, and I didn't think the professors whose house it was at would appreciate me crashing on their couch.

We have a lot of wine and beer left over. That's one of the benefits of organizing a conference. Mr. Knowitall will not be invited to the party.

Dear diary, I haven't written in you in a long time. I've been going to the gym in the mornings, and I haven't even told you. That's why I've been getting up early (besides the conference), and that's why I'm tired.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019