1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

More about my Saturday night spent watching DVDs when I should be doing homework
Saturday, October 6, 2001 x 2 - 21:30

We also rented The Who: Live at the Royal Albert Hall. I guess my parents are too old for the Who, and I'm too young, so I didn't know anything about them. Apparenlty they're the loudest rock band in the world. Now, after watching this DVD, I realize that I've known and disliked quite a few of their songs. Disliked just because they have been overplayed on classic rock stations and I always thought they were by some faceless butt rock bands like, I don't know, Chicago or Whitesnake. DJs just assume that you know what song you're listening to, so they never introduce them. How was I supposed to know I was listening to the Who?

Roger Daltrey is, dare I say it?, kind of cute.

Has Pete Townshend always randomly yelled out "fuck off!" like such a crochety old man? The show was a benefit for the Teenage Cancer Trust. Yelling out "fuck off!" seems kind of odd.

I rented this DVD, of course, because Eddie Vedder sang a couple songs. He looks great - he's not wearing white pants and he doesn't have short hair. Oh yeah, and he sounds good too. Apparently, on the bonus disc, there's footage of the rehearsals with each of the guest performers (i.e. more of Eddie). I haven't seen that yet.

The quality of the video is great, the audio is great, and even those annoying songs like Bargain and Who Are You aren't that annoying when you can see that they're being sung by a good-looking person.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019