1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Monday, Nov. 09, 2020 - 21:42

You start thinking things might be okay but then Alex Trebek dies.

I was weathering the year fairly fine, I thought - yeah everything's weird and awful but we'll get through it - until four weeks ago when Tony died. That night, after we found out, I was unloading things into my new garage and bawling, and I did that for the next few nights as well. I remember thinking that hopefully my new neighbors weren't seeing it, and if they were, how weird I must seem. Not that that mattered.

My dad was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer almost six years ago and he's doing better than anyone could have ever expected because you don't live for six years after getting that diagnosis. We've been quite lucky.

I don't think I'll be going home for Thanksgiving this year.

------ Okay, I've been very glum writing all of this. But here's something good - I've started watching Borgen on netflix - I watched 80% of the first episode last night - and I'm already thinking in Danish! (Actually it might be Muppet Danish that I'm thinking in.)

Oh also, you know how I've been convinced that I've had covid for the last month? I've had a sore throat, you know? Well, remember how I had this exact same thing almost exactly a year ago? You don't remember that? Well I didn't remember it either. Anyway, I did, and I do again, and it turns out it's post-nasal drip because of allergies. I usually take Zyrtec but I don't think it's effective for me anymore, so now I'm taking Benadryl at night and Sudafed during the day and I hope it goes away so I can start thinking I really have covid again over something completely different.

(The absence of Tony will be felt for a very long time.)

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Friday, Dec. 04, 2020
- - Monday, Nov. 30, 2020
- - Wednesday, Nov. 25, 2020
- - Monday, Nov. 16, 2020
- - Wednesday, Nov. 11, 2020