1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Monday, May. 20, 2019 - 21:33

Yesterday, when my dog and I got back from a run, the puppy's pink fuzzy squeaky pig was out in the yard. My dog pounced on it and started tossing it up in the air and squeaking it and doing other doggy things. It was funny. When I went inside to get things to give him a bath in the yard, he was lying right there, and the squeaky pig was lying right there yonder.

I came back outside a few minutes later and my dog was still right there but the pig was not there. Where did it go? Had it rolled to a different part of the yard? No. I looked around the back yard, I walked twice around the entire yard, I looked outside the fence (because maybe my dog had tossed it over somehow), I looked in the plants, I looked behind the garden. The pig was nowhere to be seen; the pig had vanished.

There was but one clue: my dog had a very dirty nose.

One of my containers of dahlias (they're just there temporarily waiting for warmer weather to come) had a mysterious hole in the soil - but that's potting soil, not the same kind of dirty dirt that was on my dog's nose. Also, there was no squeaky pig ball buried in it.

I mowed the lawn last night and had to pick up all the dog toys (we've got innumerable dozens of dog toys in the yard, it's ridiculous) and did not find the pig. Tonight the puppy's roommate and I looked around the yard again, in the tall plants, under the construction debris, and did not find the pig. And did not find any disturbed dirt other than a worm hole under the bay window. (I don't think my dog's cunning enough to bury a toy, anyway.)

Obviously I got all paranoid thinking the lady across the street stole it in order to fill it with razor blades and needles so as to avenge her cat. I know that's crazy but I still don't not believe that.

More than likely it's hidden in the plants and it'll reappear in the fall - that's happened plenty of times over the years to plenty of dog toys. But you never know.

What happened to the pig during those few minutes that I was inside? Where did my dog stick his nose? To this day, the pig is still unaccounted for, and my dog isn't saying a word about it.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019