1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019 - 11:45

A tiny innocuous strip of foil from the top of a yogurt cup sliced into my thumb yesterday. It bled tons. This is a good foray into roundaboutly talking about things I haven't wanted to talk about. I am allergic to bandaids but am covered with them right now. Last week I got a big long cut on my leg from the garden fence and a couple days later it was still puffy and stingy, so I finally put vaseline and bandaids on it. And then on Monday my dog got into a tangle with a cat and I got all scratched up trying to get them apart. My dog got all scratched up too. And I'm sure the cat did not fare well either. I've tried writing about it a couple times but couldn't.

This was in my parents' yard and the cat supposedly was a neighbor cat who comes into their yard to chase squirrels. My parents texted me yesterday that they'd seen both gray neighborhood cats and they both appeared to be fine, so if it was one of those, it's okay. It was horribly upsetting for me though and I hope I never have to witness another dog/cat thing again. By the time I got over there, the cat was on the attack and my dog was running away, but then went back for more. Etc. It was awful.

My hand and wrist and fingers got scratched up, and I somehow also got scratches on my back, so I had antibiotic ointment and bandaids on the deeper of those scratches. I am healing fine, although the yogurt thumb wound hurts today.

My dog is a sweetheart and a cuddlebug but he is also an animal capable of animalistic things. His chest and nose and head are scratched up, and he had some deep scratches right next to (but thankfully not in) his eyes. And some scratches in an ear.

I was home for the weekend for the half marathon that I hadn't trained for. The race went better than I deserved. It was a lovely weekend. We went out on the boat and my sister and I went swimming. My dog refused to jump off the boat but her dog did jump off. The water was cold but nice once you got used to it. We also pressed apples and my fingers are still brown from that.

These days it's tomatoes and running and working and sleeping and getting ready for fall. It's been raining. It's okay.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Sunday, Oct. 06, 2019
- - Monday, Sept. 30, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019