1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Friday, May. 25, 2018 - 19:26

I did not puncture the water main while I was planting a shrub, the cold water line in the downstairs sink faucet was just plugged up with crap. After the puppy's roommate got that fixed, there was no pressure in my kitchen sink, but that, again, was just crap - rinsed out the screen and it was fine. Even though I knew I hadn't hit the water main, I was still secretly worried that I had. My electricity bill this month (which I received the day the water began having problems) as always included dire but helpful information about always calling before you dig, even if you're just planting shrubs.

The song that's stuck in my head these days is "Like the Rain" by Clint Black. One of the things I like about it is the play on "like", transitive verb and adjective (or adverb? whatever). But also I like it because of that mysterious thing that happens when a song I've heard plenty of times, or never heard at all, gets stuck in my head for a week or two and the only thing there is to do is to listen to it over and over and read the lyrics and realize that for some reason they are terribly terribly applicable to me at this moment in time.

My race is in two weeks and I'm thinking I need to run 20 miles tomorrow. Do I? I don't know. What's gonna happen is that my toenails are going to fall off but I think I'll be okay otherwise. Or I won't be. I just hope I don't poop my pants.

Rain is a metaphor!

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019