1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Wednesday, Aug. 17, 2022 - 15:10

I continue to be obsessed with The Music Man. I am imagining writing an article about our 1983 production for my hometown's weekly paper, interviewing the director to see if her recollections about our raging success align with mine. While researching this imagined article, I found out - imagine my shock! - that 10 years ago they put on another production of The Music Man and SHE was the director again! Was she trying to relive some of the glory of yesteryear? Did it come close? I doubt it. I scoffed, of course, to find out that their orchestra had only TWO TROMBONES for their production. Seventy-four short! How embarrassing. Quick draft of interview questions:

  1. Our run was extended for months and months and months due to overwhelming popular demand - has she ever experienced such unanimous public adoration in any production since?

  2. Does she remember that we'd jump off that little dock into the creek behind the theater during rehearsals? Has any cast of any other play ever been as fun as we were while maintaining such a high level of complete mastery of the craft?

  3. Does she recall giving me special permission to not participate in Shipoopi due to my personal objections with the number?

  4. My older sister had two speaking lines, one of which was supposed to be said by Gracie Shinn but that actress was unable to deliver them... why?

  5. Did Meredith Wilson himself hear about our production and, if so, how impressed was he?

  6. Meredith Wilson died a year later - had he been holding on for a small-town production to do justice to his play and he was finally able to rest, at peace knowing his legacy was forever tied to us?

  7. Is it true that our leads were Robert Preston and Shirley Jones because that's who I'm remembering they were.

  8. My acting career never took off and I have since retired from community productions. How big of a loss is that for the world of community theater.

I discovered today to my delight that Alexa will play the soundtrack from the movie. I am listening to it right now.

I don't know why this is happening. But I hope you got that trombone joke.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Sunday, Oct. 16, 2022
- - Tuesday, Sept. 27, 2022
- - Wednesday, Sept. 14, 2022
- - Tuesday, Sept. 06, 2022
- - Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2022