1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Monday, Nov. 01, 2021 - 22:38

I had a certification exam last Friday. The content was mainly review and I've never failed a test in my life. But - I didn't pass! I was shocked. But also kinda knew it would happen and, I suppose, thankful for the lesson, which is - I need to take care of myself sometimes. I had a test, I needed to study. I didn't study much because of all the other stuff I had to do. I should have rescheduled, but didn't.

I'm now the official manager of eight people at work. I don't know how this happened. Most of them are new and therefore a little needy.

I'm coaching a running class with two other coaches but I feel like I'm the only one doing anything.

I'm rolling onto a project and that's always stressful. I had a 15-minute meeting at 6:30 a.m. last Thursday. Next Thursday I'll have a follow-up meeting at 6:45 a.m. That's Veterans Day.

So I'm feeling sorry for myself about all this shit I have to do, feeling very put-upon by everyone, and see what you guys made me do! You made me fail a test for the first time ever in my life! I hope you're happy!...

It's better this week, or at least I'm feeling better about things, and I do appreciate the lesson I learned. I should have rescheduled, because I wasn't able to get as much studying in as I'd wanted, and it turns out that I can't do everything. I can't do everything, and I don't have to do everything. I can ask for help, I can reschedule, I can do other things. Etc.

Other things: The other night I woke up with a start at 4 a.m. convinced my dog was dead. He wasn't, he was very soundly asleep and barely aware that I was shaking him and saying his name.

I believe I successfully survived an infected thumb. This morning there was pus under the nail! Jesus, gross! But since then it's almost gotten back to normal so I don't think they'll have to take the thumb.

A bird smacked into one of my windows yesterday. Sometimes they glance off, but this was pretty hard. I went outside to check. Yeah. Poor little bird lying there dead. Can I call someone to have them pick it up for me? I can't bring myself to do it. I can't even go over there now. I peeked this afternoon, hoping a scavenger had carried its body away in the night, but nothing had.

My endless period caused by missing one goddamn pill is now presumably merging with an official period, which will make it four weeks of period, which is NOT WHAT I WANTED.

I just found out that my ex-best friend's cousin is in the hospital with covid and not doing well. This kid is a year or two older than us and we grew up together. He still looks exactly like he did when he was 12 years old and that's how I think of him. I'm assuming he's unvaccinated, because they haven't said otherwise, and the situation was so bleak his wife and kids flew over to Seattle (where he's been the past couple weeks) to say goodbye last weekend.

My sister remains unvaccinated. My brother-in-law who nearly died of covid himself did finally get his first shot, although I'm not sure if it's because he changed his mind about it or if it's because he would have lost his job (which he wasn't able to go to for two months because he was so sick). The end result is the same, so who cares. Frankly, at this point, if you're not vaccinated you're just fucking stupid (barring any medical reason for being unable to get the vaccine, of course). While at a certain level I dislike mandates, I support a vaccine mandate just because it forces all the stupid dumbfucks who don't have any reason at all to not get vaccinated to get vaccinated LIKE THEY SHOULD HAVE MONTHS AGO. So then their poor families won't have to go through awful shit like flying to Seattle so they can stand next to a door with a window that looks into their sedated, intubated dad's ICU room and say things to him for the last time over Zoom.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Monday, Nov. 29, 2021
- - Monday, Nov. 22, 2021
- - Thursday, Nov. 18, 2021
- - Monday, Nov. 15, 2021
- - Thursday, Nov. 11, 2021