1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Tuesday, Feb. 16, 2021 - 11:19

On Sunday afternoon it warmed up to 12 degrees, so we went for a walk to the river, which we hadn't done for days. 12 degrees feels much nicer than 0 degrees. On Monday when it had warmed up to 19 degrees we went for a run, wading through the ankle-deep snow on the sidewalks, headfirst into the flurries. I had the kind of day I always used to have but haven't had in months - constant motion, constant activity, constant progress. I rearranged my living room and re-rearranged my office. I did laundry, folded it, and put it away. I did a load of dishes and also put them away. I made a successful loaf of sourdough bread and cleaned up after myself. I shoveled the driveway three times. I walked to the store to get some soup. Nothing huge, but these last few months all I've done is sit here.

My dog was sick and I think he was awake for most of the night. Maybe he ate something bad, I don't know. He had horrible sulfur burps. I put a towel down in case he barfed, and I was really expecting him to get up at some point in the night wanting to go outside. He didn't, though, and today is fine, catching up on sleep. He's in the middle of two weeks of Prilosec right now, and maybe it's a side effect. Don't know.

I'm signed up for a few races, nothing longer than a half marathon, but what I want to do is train for an ultra again. I don't have the muscle strength right now, though, so maybe I need to prioritize strength training again this year and think about an ultra for next year.

I miss being busy like that.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Thursday, Mar. 18, 2021
- - Wednesday, Mar. 17, 2021
- - Saturday, Mar. 13, 2021
- - Monday, Mar. 01, 2021
- - Friday, Feb. 26, 2021