1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Monday, Mar. 01, 2021 - 14:14

I got another raise, substantial. 20 percent. Honestly money hasn't been a problem for me since I paid off my car - 10 years ago or so - but it's still always a worry. I'll redo my budgeting now - I need a higher cushion, emergency fund, house repairs. My mortgage payment is almost $800 higher than my rent payment was. But even before this raise, I've been managing fine. Last month my cash holdings increased $300 - not much and not what I'm used to, but it was still an increase. I'm still behind, I started back from scratch after getting a divorce, but it has been gratifying to see my net worth grow over the last 10 years, starting out negative, slowly going from red to green, and then climbing beyond that.

Money hasn't been my problem, it's everything else - here I am sitting on my dumb old couch instead of on a new one, not because I can't afford a new one but because I haven't been able to decide on a new one to get.

I suppose I was experiencing some low lows in January, and maybe even before then, when I couldn't do manage to do anything other than nothing. These days suddenly the days are longer - there's still time after work to get stuff done - and I feel more able to function in the world. So maybe it was seasonal depression.

I decided yesterday to sign up for the marathon this year. I'm already signed up for the half, but with virtual races you have a bigger window to get your mileage in, so you can do both. I've been thinking about how I can commemorate Tony, note the loss of him, and this is it - I'll run the marathon for Tony. It will be the first year without him.

My neighbor is out talking baby talk to her rabbit. Probably in a few years I'll want to move to someplace that has a bigger yard, more space between houses.

Example 1 of getting things done: I finally took the back cover off of my laptop. The fan has been getting louder for the last... year? ... and I finally opened it up and blew the dust out. Not nearly as much dog hair as I was expecting. It's so much quieter now. Should have done this months ago!

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Monday, Apr. 05, 2021
- - Monday, Mar. 29, 2021
- - Thursday, Mar. 18, 2021
- - Wednesday, Mar. 17, 2021
- - Saturday, Mar. 13, 2021