1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Friday, Oct. 23, 2020 - 22:00

Wednesday. Sunny fall day. Friends have come down with covid. I go out to Costco to get them some chicken noodle soup - it's homemade, just that "home" here means Costco! Driving across town on my lunch break, beautiful - leaves of green and yellow and orange and red and gold, blue skies. Beautiful! Snow storm. End of the work day. My dog is so excited to go outside for a walk, bouncing and wiggling. I put on his coat, put on my coat, open the door, and when he sees what's going on outside, his head drops and he sits down with a sigh.

Thursday. Sunny again, with snow on the ground. Our first frost, and more! It's in the 20s but the "feels like" temperature is in the teens. I go over to the house to dig up my dahlias. The stalks are mostly water, which means they're mostly ice. My fingers freeze. The puppy's roommate gives me a container of tomatoes and peppers that he's harvested (my tomatoes and peppers). He dug up one of the tomato plants, the one loaded with beautiful green tomatoes that just need a few more days to start ripening. The peppers were supposed to be jalapenos but they taste like sweet peppers, with just a little bit of heat. Very good. Will save seeds from one of them.

Friday. Sunny morning. Sunglasses on our morning walk. The sky turns white mid-morning, and the snow starts falling at 2:00. It's still snowing now. I've shoveled twice and will shovel again one more time tonight.

Tomorrow morning, first day of our next running class session - ha, welcome to winter running, folks! We could get a foot of snow overnight, and it's supposed to get windy too, but at least it'll just be in the lower 20s - tomorrow night it'll get down to zero, or below.

I figured out how to program the bathroom floor heat yesterday, but I didn't realize how long it would take to warm up the room again after lowering the temperature for the night. It takes hours. This isn't the weekend to be shooting for economy.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Monday, Nov. 09, 2020
- - Friday, Nov. 06, 2020
- - Tuesday, Nov. 03, 2020
- - Saturday, Oct. 31, 2020
- - Sunday, Oct. 25, 2020