1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Tuesday, Nov. 03, 2020 - 08:49

Four years ago it was a sunny day like today. I had the day off because I worked at the university and every other year we got election day off - super nice, and I wish I'd volunteered to work at the polls all those years. This year, I'm at a new company, working from home (and here I am typing on my own laptop on a morning break), and we were given a special pool of leave time up to three hours to go vote - crucial for employees who couldn't vote absentee. Cool of the company to do, this year for the first time, but since I'm used to having the whole day off, it seems a little flat to me.

I miss voting in person, going to the old neighborhood schoolhouse, the old gym, seeing my neighbors, my old neighbor Michael who moved across town but continued to work the polls in his old neighborhood so he could see people. He'd deteriorate a little each year, and he'd always give me a hug.

I don't know what's going to happen, but I hope Donald Trump loses in the biggest way possible. I filled in my oval with gusto.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Wednesday, Nov. 25, 2020
- - Monday, Nov. 16, 2020
- - Wednesday, Nov. 11, 2020
- - Monday, Nov. 09, 2020
- - Friday, Nov. 06, 2020