1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Thursday, Nov. 07, 2019 - 21:00

I went to the happy hour the new place had for us new trainees last night. I was late - it wasn't my fault but still, I was late - I am not inclined to try to impress people, which I think might mean I'm not cut out for this kind of thing, this "business" industry full of people interested in impressing each other.

But anyway, I got back home and my dog was very excited to see me. Then a minute later out of the blue he starts whimpering a little, holding up a front paw, limping, shaking. Did he hurt himself while I was out? Did he hurt himself when he was greeting me when I got back? I inspected his paw, his leg. He flinched when I touched his shoulder. I had him lie down, I gave him a shoulder rub, I got him half a Rimadyl. There was nothing visible, and he started walking again without any problem.

I wondered if he was making it up for attention, but he's never done that before. But he was completely fine after that minute of acting hurt. And this morning he was fine, and after work today he was fine, and then he was in his bed and suddenly got up and limped over to me, shaking, wanting up on the couch. Again I looked him over, rubbed his muscles, found nothing wrong but gave him a Rimadyl and covered him up with a blanket. If he's figured out he can get attention by acting hurt, we're going to have a very long winter.

I am tired. They had a party for me at work today. I still need to submit my FTE change. (I'll be working remotely 5 hours a week for a couple months.) It's strange that I have to do that, isn't it? But then, apparently I was the one responsible for writing my own job description, and my own performance reviews, and everything else. I am ready to not work there anymore (although it will be sad to leave). I never wanted to stay there but here I am, 12 years later, finally quitting (-ish... and how horrified I would have been to think I'd become a person who uses the -ish suffix). I wrote this five days after I first started working there.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Monday, Nov. 18, 2019
- - Sunday, Nov. 17, 2019
Day two - Wednesday, Nov. 13, 2019
First day - Tuesday, Nov. 12, 2019
- - Monday, Nov. 11, 2019