1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Wednesday, Sept. 04, 2019 - 21:38

The running class went really well - we have a really good group this year, super motivated and pretty fast. I'd been sort of dreading this because of how much time it takes up, but I'm happy to be involved again.

I woke up a few times overnight, hot, throat hurting. When I got up this morning I took my temperature, convinced I had a fever. It was barely 98.0. No fever. I'd nearly decided to call the doctor's office again to try to elbow my way in, but then at work I was swallowing and decided it wasn't that bad. Now, of course, I'm sitting here with a hot head and a throat that hurts quite a bit again and I'm wishing I'd gotten an appointment for tomorrow. Oh well.

So it was upper 80s today, tomorrow will be low 90s, and then on Friday it's supposed to rain. Sunday and Monday will be rainy and in the 60s. It'll be a shock.

I was talking to someone about the tomato harvest this year, agreeing with her that it hasn't been a great year for tomatoes, but then when I brought up today's haul and put everything on my counter next to everything I brought up yesterday next to the colander filled with everything I'd brought up over the weekend, I realized I was incorrect. It's been a perfectly decent tomato year. The cucumbers, though - it has not been a great cucumber year, although I already have more cucumbers than I know what to do with.

I'll end up with two spaghetti squashes and two buttercup squashes. If the weather holds I'll get one butternut squash. My cherry bomb peppers are ripening nicely and the ghost peppers are ripening as well. I'll ferment the ghost peppers I guess. The other peppers are also ripening and it looks like I've got some giganto bell peppers.

The garden needs compost but I think I'm going to give it a rest next year (if I still live here) and only plant flowers there. I'll move the tomatoes and peppers out to the dahlia bed. I'm going to rototill the garden this fall to try to get rid of the goddamn flea beetles.

I'm glad the 'random entry' script is working again. It's sometimes the funnest thing about Diaryland.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019