1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Friday, May. 24, 2019 - 17:55

It's Memorial Day weekend, the forecast is for rain, and it's just me and the dogs until Sunday afternoon! I'm looking forward to this so much. I'm sitting outside on the steps typing on my laptop. The crazy neighbor up on the alley just opened his garage door and turned up his music REAL LOUD.

I need to get in a long run at some point (I'm doing a marathon in about a month, I recently realized), and on Sunday we're meeting up with my sister to go camping for a night. That's it.

My dog and I are babysitting the puppy this weekend, in between rainstorms I'll be out pulling weeds, I might be able to plant dahlias this weekend, I need to go to the store to buy some food to eat like an adult.

I need to buy a new laptop and sunglasses and "performance" underwear, and also some bike commuting pants. (I have worn the everliving fuck out of my biking pants over the last couple years.)

I've bought all the plants I need for the garden. (I forgot to start tomatoes this year, I may have already told you that.) New things this year: a Tumbling Tom tomato! A cherry bomb pepper! I also bought a ghost pepper! (I've managed to get ghost peppers to germinate a couple times but they always die in infancy.) I also got a couple dumb boring red tomatoes. (I've always avoided regular old tomatoes because for some reason I think they're boring, but they'll probably be fantastic.) I've got a potato that came up that was left behind from last year, and hopefully there'll be some chocolate cherry tomatoes that pop up because that's the only one of my favorites that I don't have this year.

Onions: They have all started leaning to the south, I don't know why.

Garlic: They're coming up nicely but are small. This is the first time I've planted them in the spring and I have no idea how this will work out.

Beans: I've got beans in two different places so.... there will be beans.

Cucumber: I planted four different varieties (in order to get rid of the mostly empty seed packets I have) and so far only one has come up. So there will be either many cucumbers or not many cucumbers, who knows.

Peas: Half the peas came up! I should plant more.

Strawberries: Beautiful.

Carrots: Just planted - are those carrot sprouts coming up now, or are they weeds?

Lettuce: You know, I should really plant lettuce, because I actually buy lettuce at the store, but whenever I try to grow lettuce it just doesn't work. Dumb. But anyway there's no room because the garden is taken up by all the garlic and onions.

Peppers are gonna go in containers and probably most of the tomatoes will as well. If I can find enough big containers.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019