1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Tuesday, Apr. 16, 2019 - 15:35

Things are better now but I'm too tired to care. I'm sorer than sore from the race on Sunday - My quads have daggers in them that stab me whenever I go down stairs or anything downhill, however slight. I messed up my recovery and didn't eat enough after the race and I know better but did it anyway. But it was a busy day and I did the best I could, so I'm not beating myself up over it (mentally at least - physically I am through my protein-starved quads).

My poor dog is allergic to the chewable Rimadyl they gave him for his paw so his stomach broke out yesterday really badly - he hasn't had a reaction to anything since December. He was covered in red spots and bumps and scratches. I called the vet and got him some non-chewable pills so hopefully he'll start itching less. His paw seems to be feeling better now.

The insurance guy said all the water damage downstairs will be covered, but the original plumbing issue will not be. This is good because for a while everyone thought nothing would be covered. I am relieved. My landlords could still kick me out, and I kind of expect them to, but maybe they won't, who knows.

The best house ever went on the market last week but for $25,000 over my top budget limit. I'm trying to tell myself that some other house will appear but I really liked that one.

When I went to Paris it was at the end of our study abroad program and, after months of seeing all these big, grand, centuries-old cathedrals in every town and city we went to, I had become impossible to impress. And so I found the Notre-Dame's gothickness (gothism?) oppressive, and I don't think we even went inside. Ask me about Paris and I'll tell you it's covered in piss. That's just because I didn't have a good time there. We got yelled at by a security guard at the Eiffel Tower for standing on the grass and he thought we were Germans, which was very flattering. (Obviously Paris is not covered in piss, but only because they wash all the piss off the sidewalks every morning.)

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019