1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Monday, Mar. 11, 2019 - 09:53

At work we're temporarily relocated so there are three of us in a room. This is petty but please indulge me: one of my coworkers types very annoyingly. It's all clickety-clackety and pompous. I know you can't type pompously - that's a ridiculous and baseless accusation - but somehow this person is typing pompously and very self-importantly. Clickety-clackety type type type, I am typing very important and professional emails!

So if I were to take this paid training it would halt my homebuying plans by a little bit which means I'd still be living at the house this summer which means I'd have my garden again and all that. (Unless my landlords decide to sell and I have to move out anyway.)

If I were to take this paid training it doesn't mean that I'd have to pursue a job at the parent company - I could apply elsewhere at the end of the training, or I could come back to where I work now, or I could do something else entirely. I don't necessarily have to join the big global corporate world.

I have money saved up. I can support myself for the three months of training where I'd be making less money. Paid intense technical training is obviously a good deal. I'd be learning new things and meeting new people. I haven't been happy with my job for years and years and years and the prospect of anything changing for me is not very good. I don't want to be "female administrative support" but my new boss thinks I'm the female administrative support. I've been stymied by inertia for years and here's my chance to change something. I'll be fine. Ha ha now they probably won't offer it to me.

I can't stop thinking about that commercial with those goddamn bears that are constantly pooping and wiping their butts with toilet paper and then their kid leaves his underwear lying around and his parents are horrified that they'd get fecal matter all over their hands if they pick the underwear up but the kid comes out and picks it up and does a dance about how his butt is clean because the toilet paper removes all the fecal residue so none of it gets onto his underwear. Gross.

Looks like we've survived the winter though!

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019