1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Friday, Jan. 18, 2019 - 14:00

I'm considering this "paid training" that a company around here is providing. This is a growing tech company and they've had a hard time finding qualified people around here. Once you've completed the training, you're guaranteed an interview - though not guaranteed a job of course - and the job that you do get would be based here but might require up to 50% travel.

I am feeling frustrated in my current job because I am not employed at my full potential, I don't receive any training, and I'm feeling trapped in the role of "female administrative support". Female administrative support roles aren't highly valued. I'll never be able to afford to buy a house as "female administrative support".

The training is $14 an hour for 30 hours for 12 weeks. Difference in pay for me for those 12 weeks would be around $4,500. Which would be okay. Training is on business, consulting, systems analysis and design, data analytics, project management, information infrastructures, etc. I think it would make me a hundred times more marketable even if I didn't pursue a job with this company afterwards.

I got a new boss this week. He seems nice, way more relaxed, there could be opportunities here, but as I said, I feel like I'm getting pigeonholed into the female administrative support role, and I'm not interested in that. At all. It's not the direction my career was headed until I moved into this office, but here I am now. (At least I've got my own office now, though.)

So anyway.

I probably won't do anything about this, but I sure could.

(I had also thought about an MPA certificate, which I could still do, while staying employed at my current workplace.)

(One bonus about leaving this job right now would be I'd still get my full FSA amount even though I wouldn't have paid in that full amount yet.)

(I would have loved to travel for work but I've got a dog now and I don't want to travel. Also my running.)

(The thought of not working here is scary. Inertia sure is comfortable!)

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019