1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Wednesday, Dec. 19, 2018 - 23:40

Yesterday I ordered studded tires for my mountain bike. (Searched my email for "tire" to find the last set of tires I got so I'd know the size... and came upon a draft of this entry (which originally included a review of Adventures in Babysitting, which I see I cut out) in the drafts folder. All I could see was "so obviously the only course of action for them is to be picked up by a one-armed tow truck driver" and I was like, what kind of life was I living two years ago? And then I realized this entry was written two days after the puppy and his roommate had left for hip surgery, and I was trying to pass the time by doing shit like writing a review of Adventures in Babysitting. And, back then, at some point, during that time - not necessarily during that summer, because I missed them pretty badly and it sucked - but at some point during those years I realized that I was actually happy, and had been happy. Now, right here, looking over at that from the other side of the canyon, I'm a little sad about it - looking back at how happy I'd been and seeing that I've actually lost something, after having convinced myself that I hadn't.) But anyway.

Ate shit on my bike this morning.

Every day this week I've made the wrong transporatation choice:

I drove on Monday because I was going to be coming home at like 9:30 at night and you never know what the conditions are going to be. But driving was the wrong choice because, first, in the morning, I’d gotten most of the way to work but there was a wreck on the bridge, so I had to go through town to get to another bridge and ended up being late (although only by about five minutes), and second, coming home that night, I was stuck in a stupid line of cars for about 20 minutes trying to get out, and if I'd been on my bike I wouldn't have had to deal with either of those things. It was icy that night, but it would have been okay.

Then yesterday I rode my bike, reminding myself of the lesson I'd learned the day before, but I rode my road bike because I thought they hadn't sanded the trail yet, but it turns out they had sanded the trail. I don't want my road bike getting all dirty and chewed up by that crap, and if I'd known I'd have ridden my mountain bike.

Then today, reminding myself of the lesson I'd learned the day before, I rode my mountain bike, and it was icy but it was okay, until I turned a corner and my bike slipped and I slid on my hip and elbow for about 10 feet. It was a fairly spectacular slide and I made audible grunting noises. I should have driven my stupid car!

HOWEVER, tomorrow I am NOT going to drive my car despite the lesson from today, because I'd probably get in a wreck, given my 100% success rate at choosing wrong this week.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019