1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Thursday, Jun. 21, 2018 - 21:28

My dad's in the ICU with sepsis. If I had my car I might be thinking about going over there, but it's still in the shop. I'm worried, although I just talked to my sister who is there and she seems to think it'll be okay, although he'll be in intensive care for at least another couple days. I kind of think that we don't know yet if it'll be okay, but I guess it's better to remain optimistic until presented with evidence to the contrary. My poor dad, he was finally starting to feel a little better after a few tough years, and I think he overdid it - got a hernia a while ago, and on Sunday found out he got a compression fracture, and now this infection (which may have come from the spine, or something else, they don't know yet).

This morning when I woke up it was sunny with dark blue clouds in the distance. It just started sprinkling when the dog and I went out for our walk, and by the time I was getting my bike to leave for work it was a downpour, with the gutters in the street turned to rivers. I (secretly) got all huffy puffy - the puppy's roommate wasn't going to offer to drive me to work, but if he were about to ride his bike to work in the pouring rain I would offer to drive him, what a jerk! Except that then he did offer to drive me to work. But I was still (secretly) all huffy puffy because he said he needed to go to the hardware store anyway, and I would have just offered to drive him without making any dumb excuse. And then finally I realized how silly I was being, and really, what did I want? I'm still figuring these things out and realizing that I project a lot - and it was just nice of him to drive me to work in the rain at 7:45 in the morning. Among other things.

I got my plane tickets to Chicago, and I got a place to stay - now all I need is a ticket to the first show. And I need to get rid of my extra ticket for the second show. I've had a few near-takers. I'll just assume it'll all work out, because it always does.

Happy solstice - the sun just set and I'm going to bed.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019