1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Thursday, Jun. 07, 2018 - 23:12

I got a supergold membership again. If you think about it - diaryland is the last best place on the internet. No fucking pop-up ads, no corporate crap, just a homemade website, a weird relic from when the internet used to be genuine. And I know it's just a side project for Andrew now and he has no obligation to keep renewing the domain, but he does it just for us whiny, ill-adjusted, self-absorbed nerds who are still writing here. I'd had a gold membership for like 10 years but then didn't renew when the comments got broken years ago. But I suppose even without comments working (or anything working, other than being able to post entries and read other people's entries) it's worth $54.99 to me. I'm sure I've gotten the equivalent value of therapy sessions from this. Along with the period tracking.

Speaking of my period, guess what! You can track your cycles with fitbit now! Fitbit will send me a notification telling me that my period will be coming! No more being completely gobsmacked by it every single time! This changes everything! I won't have anything to write about anymore, though.

A few days ago I was freaking out because the weather on Saturday during the race was going to be hot and sunny. Now I'm freaking out because it's going to be cold and thunderstormy. In reality it will probably be okay - or it won't be, but there's nothing I can do about that.

I have many things to look forward to about this: finding out how strong or not strong I am, running through a beautiful area that I wouldn't otherwise get to see, seeing my friends at all the aid stations, running with one of my best friends for the first leg of their relay, getting a jacket at the end (if I finish)! The puppy and his roommate are going to drive me to the starting line. My sister and nieces will be at the finish. We're going to stay at a nice place that night and eat at a good restaurant the next morning (the highlight of the weekend, along with the jacket [if I finish]). My dog is going to spend the weekend with his girlfriend Jackie and her family.

As usual, my goal for the race is to finish without falling, barfing, or pooping my pants. I would like to finish closer to 10 hours but I honestly have no idea how the race will go. I might fade out at mile 35, I might blow up earlier than that, I might be okay. I really don't know. I really hope I don’t poop my pants though. Or fall and break my arm and have to finish the race with my broken arm stabilized by a splint made of twigs. Or get attacked by a moose. Or get struck by lightning. Jesus, so many things could go wrong. I’m going to bed. I’m sure it’ll be fine.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019