1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Anyway
Monday, May. 21, 2018 - 21:03

Open enrollment for our health plan at work ended on Friday. I put in my elections a few weeks ago, maxed out my FSA contribution and figured I'd "look into" Lasik enough to know for sure whether it was something I'd definitely be doing this year or not, and if not I'd un-max it out before the deadline. However, surprisingly, I neglected to do any "looking into" anything, and open enrollment closed, and now here I am hoping that I'll be able to get Lasik because if I can't I'm not sure what I'm going to spend $2,650 on in the next year - this year my only eligible medical expenses are for contacts.

Speaking of jinxes - I was bragging to the puppy's roommate about the AC in my car a few weeks ago, about how I've never had to do anything to it in the 12 years I've owned my car and it's always worked perfectly, and then BOOM the next day it stopped working. I did some fancy googling and found some guy's detailed post about changing out the o-rings yourself - a cheap, easy fix that solves 85 percent of the AC problems he's seen in Subarus. I don't know anything about anything, and also there were some mysterious drips under my engine so maybe there was a hole in the line or whatever somewhere, and also there were some people commenting on the guy's post about how it was dangerous and irresponsible to do what he said, so anyway I took it to the shop today so they could fix it. And it's the o-rings. It was $200. Which isn't bad - I love my shop and don't know what I'd do without them. I also love my car and don't know what I'd do without it. (- buy a new car.) Will talk to them next about the head gasket leak. If I ignore it will my car blow up leaving me stranded out in bear country alone? Etc.

I bought more dahlias, on sale. They sell dahlias as annuals. I've only been able to winter over one dahlia bulb. I'll try with these suckers this year, though. Anyway, they are lovely. The little front corner flower bed looks lovely - I've cleared out all the goutweed that had taken over, and it's a nice little spot now, provided the dogs don't trample everything. I also bought a Weigela bush.

Anyway, after I'd been out there digging down into the ground to plant these things, something happened with the water at the house, and now the downstairs kitchen doesn't have any cold water, just air coming out. Naturally I'm terrified that I nicked (I swear this should be spelled 'knicked') the main water line, although I really don't think I could have because the water is working everywhere else in the house, it's just one faucet's cold water. But the thought is still there. What if I knicked (or nicked) the water main without noticing? But wouldn't there be some catastrophic clue that I'd hit the water main? Right? Right? It wasn't me, right?

Anyway, the dahlias look nice.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019