1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

February 14, 26 degrees
Tuesday, Feb. 14, 2017 - 21:14

Sometimes I'll go look at the foxnews website just to see what they think is important. Right now, I just looked at CNN and I was like, oh wow holy shit, very soon we will be getting POTUS #46 Mike Pence. But on the foxnews website everything's fine. No problems here! Nothing going on!

I don't know what's happening with the world.

I've been listening to a lot of CBS Radio News because I love it so much. I only recently discovered that I can listen to each hourly update on the internet. It's got one commercial break in it and the commercial is always for some company that will protect you from terrible internet terrorists who are trying to steal your stuff and hold it RANSOM. You know, if you listen to shit like this too much, no wonder you get paranoid. The world is painted as a terrible and scary place and you can't trust fucking anyone.

I've been lucky not to have had television for the last many years. It's been a luxury I couldn't afford, but not having TV (and also getting into noncommercial radio) has kept me away from these terrible ads about how people are constantly trying to break into my house and how my mop is filthy and should be thrown out and replaced with disposable wipes. I resent how they try to shape our lives, try to make it seem like what they're selling is normal.

I took a class in college about how to be a strong reader - I may have already written about this here at some point. It took me the whole semester to figure out the point of the class, but the point was to be a strong reader and make up your own mind - identify what the author wants you to think, and then decide if you're going to think that or not. You never have to, you're never obligated to fall in line. I don't have to buy a fucking Swiffer if I don't want to, and I don't have to think that everyone around me is a violent criminal.

Meanwhile our republican senator is getting an earful on the facebook. I don't think he cares what anyone has to say, but I'll send him a letter regardless, telling him to have some integrity. No one can really think all this is okay, can they?

In the '90s I went to the premier - or a preview, I can't remember - of the movie Dave starring whats-his-face and Sigourney Weaver, and Ben Kingsley. There are bad guys trying to smear Ben Kingsley, but it turns out that Ben Kingsley is a good guy, and when he finds out he's being smeared, he says, "All I've got is my integrity." I've always remembered that line.

Anyway, what I was going to tell you tonight was that Blue Apron is sending me another free box, and also my abs are so sore from boxing on Sunday that I can't even sneeze.

Also, happy Ventailes Day! Valentines.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019