1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

January 16, 6 degrees
Monday, Jan. 16, 2017 - 21:02

I laid down in bed last night* and woke up 8 hours later having not moved an inch. I know this because my complicated arrangement of blankets and pillows hadn't moved at all. I was sleep-deprived and finally getting some sleep = good. I suppose I've been a little cranky lately.

I got a message on the facebook with a lead on an editor job. I suppose I'll pursue it although I am terribly unqualified - the last active publication I worked on was over a decade ago and that was just as an editorial assistant. I mean, this opportunity is rad, and intimidating. My fear of success has kicked in and I'll likely weenie out of this because I am scared.

I'll be driving home tomorrow although my grandma is doing better now. I don't *need* to go there but I've decided it's what I'll do because I don't want to go to work. There's supposed to be a terrible ice storm coming in, though. But I've already decided I don't want to go to work, so I'll be driving through it.

The stye on my eye is uncomfortable, hurty-itchy. I've been hot-washclothing the crap out of it for the last two days but I don't think it's going away yet.

* I know, "I lay down in bed last night", but goddammit they should have thought about how homophonically conundrous that lay-laid/lie-lay thing would be. Conundrous is the adjectival form of conundrum. It's not officially a word but in four days we won't have to listen to eggheads anymore because they'll have been drained from the swamp! Hooray! So we can use whatever dang words we want.

I mean, combine tense homophony with a transitivity knowledge requirement and you're just setting yourself up for failure! Why would our ancestors do this to us!

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019