1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

January 8, 18 degrees
Sunday, Jan. 08, 2017 - 22:25

I finally started writing in my new paper journal. I don't know what to say, though. A lot has been going on but do I want to write about it?

I finally started going through the boxes of stuff I've been carrying around with me for the last 10 or 15 years that I haven't been able to get myself to face. I'm throwing a lot of stuff away. I don't regret anything in my life but some of this stuff I just wish didn't exist. But it's also nice to see again, because it's my life.

The person I worked for at my first job here died last week. I was surprised by how upset I was last month when I found out he was doing poorly, and I thought I'd been able to deal with that pretty well, but then when he died I was again surprisingly upset. He was a mentor, someone I have nothing but respect for, and I'm just sad. And so I've been thinking about our lives, integrity, a life's work, dedication and work ethic, and other such things.

My goddamn proclivity for paper has left me with thousands of pages of things - stories or starts of stories, essays, journally things, snippets of broken hearts - and I'm going through all that this weekend wondering what in the world I'm going to do with it. Leave it for someone else to deal with when I'm dead? Ugh. Deal with it myself? Ugh. Or throw it away? No fucking way, it's priceless shit! So I'll just rearrange it and put it into less dusty boxes.

The gym is going well. My second boxing class yesterday left me a thousand times less sore than the first boxing class. I sat in the steam room four times last week. Tomorrow I think I'll go tan, then steam room, then shower - unless it's snowing like it is tonight, and then I'll stay home.

We were supposed to get an inch of ice pellets or sleet but instead have gotten three or four inches of snowy snow. It's lovely outside. The puppy's roommate has been shoveling every hour or two since the afternoon. The puppy and I went for a walk - it's much warmer than it was all last week and his feet weren't getting frozen, so he had a lot of fun zooming around in the snow.

I don't like to jump on any bandwagons but I have to say that I've watched Meryl Streep's Golden Globes speech three times already and I hope everyone else in the entire world watches it as well.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019