1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

November 7, 50°
Monday, Nov. 07, 2016 - 16:49

I'll be on a train for the next two days, in the first-class section. Don't try to find me. You can send a telegram to the next station if you must, but I will be out of contact until then.

This is a last-minute trip - I didn't tell my manservant to start packing for me until midnight. He was quite put out about it. (I know a manservant is a servant for a man rather than a servant who is a man, but I think it's funny to call him a manservant.)

Likely there will be a murder on the train, and I will solve it. I will befriend a couple other aristocrats, and we will sit in the dining car calmly and quietly discussing the case over tea. The murderer will turn out to be one of my new friends! Of course I knew it all along, although I didn't let on, not until we were going over all the details with the constable.

I rode first-class once from Adelaide to Melbourne. It took one day, the daylight of one day. I hadn't really slept in a week so I folded out the bed and fell asleep with gum in my mouth, looking out the huge window at the kangaroos we were passing. I still remember how comfortable that bed was.

I woke up in the middle of the night last night. I was awake all night long. I thought it was probably 6:00. After being awake for a couple hours I decided to look at the clock. It was 4:30. I stayed awake some more, then fell asleep. Then got up.

Lately I've been dreaming about.... something.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019