1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

August 26
Friday, Aug. 26, 2016 - 18:54

There's this freedom in the summer that the other seasons don't have, and it's not just the freedom to step outside without having to put on more clothes, although it's closely related to that freedom. Other seasons are nice, but I just fucking hate the end of summer so much.

I went for a long bike ride last night. It did nothing to fix my problems but it presented me with some options. Maybe I need to get out of town and into the country, maybe I need to get away from all this rabble. Maybe I'll drive up the freeway this weekend in search of a small swimming hole somewhere along the river, with no people around.

A good thing about the puppy being away longer than expected is that I'll have time to figure out what to do with the wall of squashes that he'd stomp on. And I'll be able to get the goddamn potatoes up. I'd planted more beans but they're not going to be back in time for them.

In Gone with the Wind, the siege of Atlanta is going on. I'm almost 300 pages in but still just in the first third of the book. I'd forgotten that Scarlett had a son but that's because of the movie. The movie is racist as shit, yeah - perpetuates awful stereotypes - but the book - at least so far - as are all books - is more nuanced than the movie, more "epic". I suppose the movie is an "epic" movie too but honestly it's a crapfest. It's lovely, it's iconic, but it's awful. The casting is great, though.

Woke up this morning my house was cold, checked out the furnace she wasn't burnin'. Went out and hopped in my old Ford, hit the engine but she ain't turnin'. Somewhere along the line I slipped off track.

Happy National Dog Day to all the puppy dogs out there.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019