1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Sunday, November 8
Sunday, Nov. 08, 2015 - 10:40

We are pleased to announce that, after years of dedicated fervency, patient stalking, and ill-executed chases, the puppy has finally caught a squirrel in the yard. This victory comes upon two catches while he was on vacation last month. He also got a mountain squirrel a year or two ago. But he'd never gotten one of these fat town squirrels.

It happened yesterday. He was quite pleased with himself. I was traumatized. I didn't see it happen but came upon the aftermath. The goddamn dog wouldn't leave the goddamn squirrel alone - picking it up, carrying it around, biting its stomach, and licking it. I didn't know what to do so I stood and hollered a bunch, but he didn't listen to me. His roommate was at a conference. I sent him a series of frantic texts, unanswered. When the goddamn dog brought the goddamn squirrel next to the door, I decided we needed to leave - put the dog on a leash and we went across the river to the park. By the time we got back, his roommate had come back and disposed of the body. The puppy looked around the yard for his new toy, couldn't find it, and that was that.

These are invasive squirrels, not native, so I don't not support his hunting them. He's put in the time and energy and I'm glad he finally got one. However, I don't want it to happen again while I'm alone with him. Gross. Ugh. I nearly sent his roommate a text asking him to come home right away, but luckily I didn't do that.

The race went quite well - it was close to 10 miles and I have no idea why I thought it was 7 miles. Yeah I'm glad I can go do a mountainous 10 miles without much training but I am pretty sore today and I had to skip boxing this morning.

So instead of boxing I cooked up a big skillet of bacon and this afternoon I'll make some soup etc.

The house is getting rewired starting tomorrow - it may take two weeks, it will be a pain, I will probably whine about it here.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019