1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Better than I was expecting
Wednesday, Jul. 29, 2015 - 10:27

Okay, well, after being gone for more than a week, it's been good to be back, good to hang out with the puppy and his roommate again, good to sleep in my own bed again, good to be able to tend to the garden again. On Sunday the puppy and I went for a run in the hills, and then we went to the creek because he was having problems with his hindquarters - bug bite? bee sting? worms? - and I thought the cold water would make him more comfortable. On Monday it was 53 degrees and when we were home at lunch the puppy was sitting next to me and shivering. He was hamming it up, of course - he knows if he shivers I will baby him - but god, what a heartbreaker. Yesterday at lunch it was sunny so all he could do was lie on the grass in the sun and hope I'd leave him there. He is a cute dog.

The weird eczemic tendency by my eye is awakening, as it does every three or four years - suddenly, I notice I'm itching my eye all the time, it gets red, I wonder what's happening, I realize it's apparently related to stress, it dies down, it goes away and I forget about it for another three or four years. Also, my nose is itching, and I looked at it with a mirror today and one side of the middle part, where it's itching, is swollen. Nose eczema!

The internet has been very wonky at work lately. AND someone tried to log in to one of my bank accounts. So I am wondering if I'm under attack again. Is someone logging my keystrokes? If you are, you motherfucker, just know that I will find you and I will destroy you. Get the fuck out of here.

Rob Brezsny says I should sleep more and that would be nice because my lack of sleep lately has been enormous, but it's impossible for that to happen. Why won't he tell me anything more useful? Come on, Rob Brezsny, you know what I'm talking about.

This week, on Veronica Mars: Okay you guys, this depiction of "college" is completely fictional. The dean watches boxing and drinks scotch in his office? The serial rapist shaves heads? Their dorm rooms are like amazingly cool apartments? I now really want to watch Just Shoot Me. I'd completely forgotten about that show but I apparently used to watch it a lot because I remember everything about it, now that I've read the wikipedia about it. Just Shoot Me is not on netflix! It's not on amazon prime either, which is good because I have TWO DAYS to finish watching Veronica Mars.

Garden: Oh shit you guys! The peppers are ripening - we're going to have a million peppers. The cucumbers are starting - I love growing cucumbers, they're so fun. The goddamn tomatoes - when they do finally start ripening, we're going to have a million, but I've been waiting for them so I can make some goddamn salsa and they are taking their sweet stupid time. Garlic: done, pulled. Onions: ejecting themselves from the ground, ready to start being picked. Cilantro: this stuff ain't gonna wait for the stinking tomatoes, so I'm going to have to plant another round. Eggplants: well, a couple of the millionaires were really unhappy, no idea why, so I moved them. They better perk up. The other eggplants have been blossoming and it looks like one fruit is forming so far. Hurry up, bastards. Strawberries: starting to come back but I picked two huge ones that had bites taken out by some large asshole, like a slug or a squirrel. Raspberries: there will be many, but they are late. Basil: tons. Petunias and snapdragons: started these from seed and they are blooming now! A few different colors. Better than I was expecting.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019