1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Good night, marathon weekend
Sunday, Jul. 12, 2015 - 21:50

Marathon weekend in the bag, I'm not going to work until noon tomorrow. I'd told them 10 but that's not going to happen.

It rained! All weekend, pretty much, until this afternoon. This never happens here, in July. So yesterday morning at the 5K it rained, which was nice during the race but standing around afterwards for two hours got cold. Came home, took a bath, and took a two-hour nap. It rained this morning too, very weird.

My race plan for today - half marathon - was to figure out what my race plan should be during the race, had no idea how I'd feel. Started out too fast, of course, and was running with a friend. Told him I'd have to slow down around mile 3, but then mile 3 came and I felt okay so I kept going. I did start run/walking, 8:30/:30, and did that the rest of the race. Thought I'd crash and burn, or at least slow wayyy down at some point, but it didn't really happen and my time was 2:02. Which isn't great, but I think it's my fastest half marathon since I broke my ankle, and it's pretty good for having just done the 50-miler. My knees were hurting but everything else is recovered.

The puppy very patiently dealt with my busy weekend - he hasn't gotten to do much. We went to the creek today and the poor baby sliced open his back leg on the rocks and got at least a couple other scrapes. I bandaged up the gash but the bastard wouldn't stop licking it and after a few hours I cut it off. I suppose it's okay being uncovered if he's inside. As long as it doesn't bleed all over my sheets.

He just put himself to bed and I think that means I need to go too. My brain is fading pretty fast.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019