1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Sunday, February 15
Sunday, Feb. 15, 2015 - 12:10

Hi!

I am in the middle of a long weekend filled with activities but devoid of activity partners. It's going well. There have been basketball games and films, and the people I'd normally do some of these things with are either out of town or working. I also could have gone running with some running friends but their work schedules and my film/basketball schedule don't mix. So I am busily by myself. Oh, I'm also catsitting. I've been worried I'd forget about that, but so far I haven't.

I know it's not spring yet but we've started clearing off the flower beds and garden beds. It's ridiculously springlike with no sign of winter coming back. What are we supposed to do? If winter does come back hard I'll cover some things back up with straw.

The other night my homedog and I were playing out in the yard. I threw his green bouncy ball at him, he chased after it, and... it disappeared. He looked for it, I looked for it, it was dark and I used a flashlight to look for it. It was nowhere to be found. Then I found it, and we started playing again. He had it in his mouth and he bounded up to me and dropped it at my feet. I was going to kick it away from him, and he was going to grab it away from me, and... it disappeared again. It was nowhere to be found. Nowhere. The puppy's roommate said it was probably nowhere near where we thought it was. We never found it and went to bed. The next morning we found it on the other side of the yard. What a mystery!

My dad's surgery is scheduled for next Monday, my birthday, so I think I'll go home next weekend to see him before that. The surgeon said if he hadn't known what to look for on the PET scan he wouldn't have seen it - it's small, that's good - but he's recommending six weeks of radiation and chemo. Just to make sure. Which I guess is good, but I'm sad that my dad will be sick. That will be hard. I guess there are always complications and side effects and when you're young you just bank on those things not happening.

Okay. I'm in a break between films right now and I need to do some spring cleaning around here - someone has made a mess of this place and my maid continues to be worthless, so once again I am the one who has to clean everything. Fine! Goodbye.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019