1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Thursday
Thursday, Jan. 22, 2015 - 19:01

I'm sure that when you heard I was sick you were looking forward to hearing about the gruesome details of my illness, and I'm sorry that I haven't quite come through for you on that point. Suffice it to say, in the mornings I have experienced very gratifying nose-blowings producing creamy yellow clouds of snot, and I have also been getting ample nosebleeds producing slug-like blood clots, and if anyone were to rummage through my garbage these days there would be quite a bit of DNA available to them, and I hope they wear gloves. My voice is sounding worse and worse, very weak and sickly. And the other morning I coughed up what I believe to actually be some bits of lung. I won't describe that to you, but imagine what lungs look like, and then imagine some of that coming out of your mouth. Or maybe it was rotten boogers, I don't know.

I've been leaving work early and yesterday I busted the puppy out and we went upstairs to cuddle. He is a great dog, really one of the best. Later, his roommate had a fire going outside in the fire pit, and we were looking at the stars. The puppy had to go inside because he's scared of fire and his paws were cold, and he's not interested in astronomy at all. We saw Orion, and the Big Dipper and the Little Dipper, and Leo, and then were arguing about whether what we were seeing was Jupiter or Regulus. It was Jupiter, although I was on the side of Regulus last night.

I will probably go to Japan this summer although I wish I were going back to Australia, as always. I've been lucky to have been able to have traveled like I have - a month in Costa Rica, trips to Australia lasting three weeks and then three months and then another month, a couple weeks in Scotland, a few months in Europe. It's harder now to take extended time off so my trip to Japan will probably be 10 days or so.

My dad doesn't have hepatits A, he has a dilated bile duct, and so now they have to find out why that is. They think it's his gallbladder. He's going in tomorrow to get it looked at. He sounded very chipper and upbeat on the phone but I don't know if that was an act or not. I hope he's doing okay, I hope he'll be okay, I can't really deal with the idea of my dad not being okay.

I've read all the words and looked at all the pictures of these Auschwitz survivors, I feel like it's my duty as a human to see them and read their names and look at the pictures of their families.

Okay! I'll listen to a basketball game on the radio tonight and hopefully my new TV antenna will get here soon so I can watch some TV! Also, we'll be getting the internet back but I'm the one who has to call to get it and I'm scared of doing that. And I have no voice right now.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019