1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Saturday, Jun. 28, 2014 - 22:35

The race was fine (although it was pretty cold and rainy the last mile or so). It was beautiful but a pretty tough course and I'd decided not to get up early to run 6 miles tomorrow - I'd decided instead to sleep in a little and run 4 on my own - but during the race I decided instead not to run at all tomorrow. I just got 38 or so miles this week and I don't need to run tomorrow, I'll run 3 on Monday with my other group and that's fine. Two weeks to race day. Don't need more miles right now, I need to rest. I'm tired and hurty.

The new jackasses next door are out being loud as usual on a Saturday night. This afternoon the guy and the puppy's roommate did the dude head-nod thing, what's up, and the guy said, "Hungover, man." Puppy's roommate kind of laughed awkwardly. Does anyone brag about being hungover anymore? Didn't we all stop that, like, when we turned 25? I don't know, at some point it's only pathetic to waste all of your weekends like that. Right? I know I'm judgmental but I'm also pissed that they woke me up in the middle of the night last night and their fucking cigarette smoke was coming in my window. Shut up and go inside.

Have I told you about the ants? Our yard is a kingdom of ants. Multiple kingdoms. I got home from the race this afternoon and the puppy and his roommate were busy disrupting a garbage bag filled with millions of ant larvae, red and black bitey ants. The red and black ants are climbing up our pine tree and we suspect nefarious activity. Diatomaceous earth it is, and those little fuckers will die. I'm sorry it's come to this - I have always been a friend to ants - but the ants took advantage of my kindness and double-crossed me with their hidden underground aphid farms in my strawberries. And the red and black ants bite. And there are so many ants in the yard. And so my graciousness has ended.

Oh man, tomorrow I'm not going to get up to an alarm and I'm going to stay at home all morning. I'll make bacon and eggs and coffee and I'll go sit on the stoop etc. I'm sorry to have been such a jerk throughout this entry.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019