1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Blizzard, day 2
Saturday, Mar. 01, 2014 - 11:08

I woke up at 6 yesterday but today I stayed in bed until 9:30. I never got to take a nap yesterday.

The Blizzard Watch ended eight minutes ago. :( Now it's -1� with 18 mph wind = not a blizzard. A plow just went by! They weren't going to be plowing residential streets until next week. I guess now this means I need to go out and dig out the driveway.

For the blizzard I decided to have farm breakfasts, sort of - pancakes yesterday, and today eggs, fake sausage patties, toast, and coffee. I've been out shoveling once already but gave up in the driveway, needed more fuel. Also needed deodorant. Now I've decided against the deodorant and will instead just take a shower after I do this.

Supposedly the wind chill is around -22° so it's hard to dress right. You can't dress light because your skin will freeze, but if you dress too warm you'll be sweating. I guess there's no good option.

The sidewalk out to the garage was completely drifted over, knee high. We've been shoveling so much but drifts don't care. People are saying shoveling is futile, and for a sidewalk in the middle of a yard I suppose that's true - the sidewalk is just going to fill up again to be level with the rest of the yard - but it's not futile for the outside walk or the driveway.

I'm stalling. My back hurts. Maybe I'll take some ibuprofen before heading back out there.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019