1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

news updates
Monday, Feb. 24, 2014 - 19:02

I thought for a second about going to the laundromat tonight, but it's my first night home in over a week, and it's pretty snowy out there. I'd love to take my car out, actually - I love driving in these conditions - but I've seen four cars sliding and/or stuck today and I don't want to get run into by someone else.

Also, seriously, someone needs to clean up around here. It's obviously not going to be my maid, because she doesn't do shit, so it must be me.

Light bulb news: There was a light bulb at the bottom of my stairs that got burned out. Twenty-five years ago this light bulb was put in by a person who was very afraid that the light bulb would fall out of the socket, so they screwed it in as tightly as they could. As the years went by, bugs and toads crawled up there and got into the socket, somehow wedging their bodies in between the base of the bulb and the housing. The bugs and toads got fried when the light got turned on, and their bodies congealed and cooked and formed an impenetrable seal around the base of the bulb. Last night, I, suspecting nothing, attempted to unscrew that light bulb. At first nothing happened, but little by little I got some movement. The movement turned out to be only the glass bulb and not the base. Cooked and powdered bug and toad bodies fell into my eyes. My shoulder hurt like a mother. I gave up and had to resort today to asking for help from the yahoos downstairs. After dozens of minutes, with the help of two pairs of needlenose pliers, the light bulb has now been replaced.

Puppy news: The puppy did not get to go snowboarding today. He had to stay home. He gets to go for a bike ride tonight, and then he gets a bath. He's smelling like a dog, like soggy corn chips, you know? But he's such a nice dog. When he sees me he always comes running up to me, full of wiggles and kisses, and then he sits next to me, on guard. He's doing really well with not jumping up on people.

FINGERNAIL NEWS FLASH: The Julep March Maven Reveal ends today! I just changed my box again! I switched to the Core Classics Box, which includes a cleanup tool, top coat, and oxygen nail treatment. The cleanup tool is this little thing that's supposed to clean under nails and fix polish mistakes. It's kind of like a jackknife but fancier, and for ladies. Hooray! I'm adding on cloudy clear polish and light periwinkle polish. I'm not getting the lippy stuff. This is a fingernail subscription, who cares about lips right now, am I right? Right? Am I? I have a few more hours to change my mind again. Did I do the right thing? Maybe I should switch back! What if I chose the wrong thing!

I decided I wanted the cleanup tool because I put on the coral pinky Butter London polish over the weekend and there's no way to put it on without looking like a 5-year-old. Impossible. I even took it off and put it back on as carefully as possible, but it's still embarrassing. Somehow you can't stop it from leaking into your cuticles, and it's so bright that any mistake like that is quite blatant.

In contrast, the purple LVX polish goes on like a champ - no smudging, no weird cuticle leaks, no streaky bad spots. LVX nail polish makes you look like an elegant professional, a competent and graceful gentlewoman whose apartment is not a disaster, a put-together grown-up who gets up in the morning without hitting the snooze button five times. I really like the LVX stuff. I try to like the Butter London stuff but just haven't been able to.

Fingernails, man. It's so complicated.

Job news: Seriously, so many times I've thought that my boss was going to get fired for sure, and it still hasn't happened yet. I expect the next month will be awful because my other co-worker is on vacation and my idiot boss will have no one to turn to but me.

Sleep news: I guess I've been sleeping okay for the last couple weeks.

Get ready, Sean Astin's birthday is tomorrow.

Bye.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019