1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Friday, Dec. 30, 2011 - 13:50

Since yesterday afternoon my houseguest and I have been obsessed with Cambodian rock. I was obsessed with it earlier this year and in fact played some songs on my radio show in July just a few days before I first found out he was in this town...... There are two documentaries we want to see -� Don't Think I've Forgotten: Cambodia's Lost Rock and Roll, and� Sleepwalking Through the Mekong. Last night we rented City of Ghosts, which I think might be what set me off on Cambodian music earlier this year.

I went to a basketball game last night - he didn't want to come - while I was gone he watched the movie, and when I got back we watched Tangled, and he fell asleep. [I can't help but love his sweet face.]

Snoring - a bad thing to have to listen to at night, but it's much worse when there's no snoring. Now I find his snoring comforting - it means that he's here, and that he's asleep. This week he hasn't been sleeping, all week - I go to bed and he's awake, and I get up early for work and he's still awake. He'd sleep an hour or two and that's it. Alcohol withdrawal - although when he had booze he'd be awake all night long too, but then would sleep all morning until the afternoon.

Last night he slept during some of the movie - when I went to bed he was listening to Cambodian music on my computer but wasn't agitated, although he did get me up half an hour after I went to bed to come listen to a song - Bomdum Snae, influenced by The Wind Cries Mary he'd been excited to discover. I woke up in the middle of the night to hear his snoring, and I woke up this morning at 6 and he was snoring. I got up and got ready for work and he slept the whole time. I hope he doesn't end up sleeping all day, and I hope he feels better today after finally getting some sleep. [Insomnia sucks, it's awful - nothing like being awake with your goddamn brain racing all night long. I couldn't sleep for two years after I first met him.

Yesterday morning, 3:30, I was woken up by the howling howling wind. He was still up. I fell back asleep and was woken up again by the howling howling wind. He was still up. I fell back asleep and was woken up again - I thought someone had come into my room and was shaking my bed. Scared the everliving crap out of me. I got up - "Yeah," he said, "the whole house has been shaking but something just happened." We went downstairs, he looked out into the yard - a tree branch had fallen, hit the power lines on its way down, ripped the power line tube away from the house, landed on the clothesline. But the power lines hadn't snapped, the power was still on, we stayed up and it took me a while to calm down. I went back to bed. At 7:30 he woke me up to tell me to call work, which I did, and then I fell asleep and got up at 9. "Finally," he said when I got up.

As ever, his departure is apparently imminent, and I hate the thought of it but won't do anything to stop it, other than tell him I don't want him to go, that I want him to stay. Other than that - other than anything - well, ...

I can't record all the details of everyday life right now - he's been staying with me since the end of November and there's too much to record, and I don't want to obsess on the details. The overall tone is what is important, and overall it's been lovely. [One night we were taking pictures of each other for Google Goggles and I wish I'd saved one.]

The dreams I was having yesterday morning during the storm:

There was a row of houses by mine, and he and I went into the one next door - a family lived there, mother and father and two kids. We were visiting and exploring, and then started to get snuggly when I got woken up by the wind.

Then, a cat and I were trying to get across a river in a city. There were these tall docks with gates at the end. I'd open the gate so we could board a ferry (or whatever), but as soon as I'd do that, the cat would jump out onto the river. It could sort of walk on water. It was kind of a pain because then I'd have to retrieve the cat and start the process over. But then, the last dock, the cat jumped out onto the water and started floating out away on the river, and I'd soon lose it. I guess I got woken up then again.

I had another dream but can't remember it now.

It's been quite dramatic around here - although peaceful last night, for which I'm thankful.

----

We have a temporary receptionist at work who is awful. It's awesome. I thoroughly enjoy listening to her answer the phone.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019