1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Tuesday, Jul. 05, 2011 - 21:53

My sister's dog is nervous and doesn't like fireworks, so my sister got tranquilizers for her this year. So the poor dog is sound asleep and my sister gets up in the middle of the night and tries to wake her up, shaking her and picking her head up and dropping it on the floor. Finally the dog wakes up and my sister takes her on a walk across town to the creek, and the dog jumps in (because she loves water, even when she's drugged) and collapses on the bank as soon as she gets out. My sister thinks she's dead and imagines having to carry this big dog back home. The dog isn't dead, she's just drugged, and my sister gets her back up and they come back home and the poor dog finally gets some sleep. This all happened from 4 a.m. to 7 a.m. My dad makes us pancakes and I knock on my sister's door at 8:00 - we have to be at the start of the parade at 9:00. My sister can't get up because she'd been up in the middle of the night trying to make her poor drugged dog not sleep.

The little dog came along with us to the parade. I had to drive a truck full of old ladies. I was nervous - the truck doesn't have power steering and has a new engine from when I knew it. First gear is low, which is what you need when you're in a parade, and it's an unfamiliar gear in that truck. Anyway, the little dog was a hit and didn't bite anyone, I didn't run over anything untoward, the truck didn't run out of gas despite the choke not being able to turn off, and I didn't snap any old ladies' necks by starting out in first too jerkily.

I convinced my parents to put up my canopy bed but first we had to dig the bed out of the garage. This canopy bed is iron and cost $900. In my previous life I would pay $900 for a bed. The hangy cover things for the canopy cost another $160. Everything's from Eddie Bauer Home, which no longer exists but from which I won a $300 gift certificate somehow about 10 years ago. What I mean to say is, my bedroom at home is very nice now, with my old canopy bed that's been in the garage for years.

While excavating the garage, I pulled a strange muscle in my back. "Oh no!" I thought, "The big race is next Sunday! I will have to run with a list" as if running with a bum ankle weren't bad enough. It was terribly difficult to figure out how to sleep last night, as everything was uncomfortable for my wrenched back, but when I woke up this morning things seem to have calmed down and/or moved to the other side. It's probably my glutes.

And so I had to leave today. The little dog and I dawdled and didn't leave until it was sure to be the hottest time of day for our drive, and it was 94 degrees, and the little dog was panting and I was sweating and the tomato plant we were bringing back was jostling in the wind of the cracked windows.

Once we got back to the little dog's house, she got into her bed and has remained there for the last few hours while I've been unpacking, mowing the lawn, watering the plants and yard, doing laundry, feeding the tadpoles (sorry I forgot to feed you before we left, guys!) (I think they're still alive), etc. The little dog didn't get much rest over the weekend.

Tomorrow I have to go back to work and I'll have a new boss. I'll wear a skirt with my running skirt underneath, and I've decided that I don't much like having to work and I think I might move back home.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019