1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

everything you'll want to know about my latest injury
Monday, Feb. 21, 2011 - 20:28

Spiral fracture of the fibula. Minimal displacement. Got a walking boot - Aircast XP Walker Extra Pneumatic - pretty fancy, with an air pump and four different air bladders. Crutches for a few more weeks. Forecast is for snow and sub-freezing temperatures the rest of the week. Bus comes a block away from my house at 7:35 in the morning.

They took off the splint and my whole shin is a yellow bruise. Big fat bruise on my big fat pigfoot, sickly purple pigtoes - hopefully that swelling will go down soon. Ugly little black bruise on the inside of my ankle, but the tendons and whatnot seem to be fine there.

Glad I got that splint off, glad I can take this boot off - my foot was getting claustrophobic. They gave me a Theraband for doing resistance exercises with my foot but, even though I can, the fuck if I'm taking this thing off and moving my foot around. No way! Still paranoid about it - still falling asleep and jerking awake thinking about falling down stairs or stepping down wrong or crutches slipping on the ice.

No running for 8 weeks, and that sounds pretty okay to me - could have been a lot worse. Next appointment: next Monday, with more x-rays.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019