1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

the snow she blows
Monday, Feb. 07, 2011 - 20:10

It's snowing a lot - there was four inches of new snow this morning, and it snowed all day. Things remained calm until 4:00 or so, and then it started winding. And by winding, I mean mean dirty low-down wind with some chill attached to it, with some kick, with some spit coming out of its mouth. I saw four cars stopped on the roads - this does not happen here. Here we are tough and sensible and blizzards can't get to us. But this - this, some of us had to pull over and abandon things.

This winter is particularly snowy, unusually snowy, and I don't mind. Fresh snow to cover up the crap - no, I don't mind.

I'm out $500, is what it comes down to. I can get a new bike to replace my shiny baby bike that was stolen yesterday (I'll call her Rides With The Wind and I will never forget her nor the one ride we took together). I'll pay the $530 for Rides With The Wind (my credit card bill just came) and $500 for the insurance deductible, my insurance company will pay $300, and I'll have one new bike worth $800. I suppose I'll also get two new locks, one for my old bike which is sitting there unlocked right now, and one for my new bike, which I will call Fettered Flight.

Rides With The Wind was made for me in Taiwan. She came to America by container ship and sat in a store all last year. I bought her a week before she was captured by body snatchers. At this very moment she is in the back of a cold semi-truck on her way to Las Vegas, where she will be sold for a pittance to a dirty pimp.

***

I might not have exactly told you anything about the fellow often referred to in these many virtual pages as a dreamboat but I'm plumb snookered over that boy. I want to make a mix tape of sweetheart love songs.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019