1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

'dang' used a time or two too many
Saturday, Jan. 01, 2011 - 15:43

I should not have eaten ice cream right then, and I should not have eaten so much fettuccine, but it's hard to know how to prepare properly for a run that starts at 7 p.m., isn't it? Unfamiliarity is my excuse, at least. About three laps into it my stomach started cramping up, and I had 13 more laps to go.

As it was, my time was 16:29, not bad at all for not having done any speedwork for over a year, not bad at all coming off a shitty year of 10-minute miles. But compared to a year ago, bad.

Glad I went, very glad - got to see some people I don't get to see much. Talked for a while with one friend who's had an even tougher year than me. This ego of mine needs to go - my year was hardly bad and I'm a boob for being so self-obsessed. Anyway, he finished the Boston Marathon in about 3:15 with: a stress fracture in his tibia, a torn meniscus, and undiagnosed type-1 diabetes. 3:15 is a dang good time for a healthy person, but for someone with not one or two but three of those ailments, I mean... shit, you know?

So anyway, it has been foretold that the journey I started in 2003 will end in 2011. When I first found that out (in maybe 2004 or 2005) I was outraged and filled with indignant impatience. But now that it's 2011... well, it better end, dang it.

Yesterday was the one-year anniversary of the first day I was sick.

Today I'm cleaning things up.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019