1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Friday, Dec. 31, 2010 - 17:19

On this, the last day of 2010, I woke up before I needed to after not sleeping well for no reason at all. I took a shower and made breakfast and listened to Beethoven's 9th conducted by Leonard Bernstein - they'd changed all the Freudes to Freiheit (joy --> freedom) which is sweet but was disconcerting. I always cry when I listen to the 9th Symphony, thinking about that poor bastard Beethoven and all, and I always cry thinking about the concerts they put on after the fall of the Berlin Wall, etc. etc. Perhaps I should have mentioned earlier in the paragraph that the recording was from a Christmas performance in Berlin in 1989 celebrating the fall of the wall.

I managed to get into the frigid outside and after two minutes managed to get the door of my car open. I ran some errands, someone honked at me and gestured (a lady who was mad I wasn't driving fast enough on the ice), hot tears spilled on my cheeks, I went back home. I went to a basketball game. I went to the store. I'm planning to do a timed two-mile run tonight, I suppose, and then I may or may not go downtown to hang out for a few minutes. Or I may not. Who knows. I should probably commemorate the end of this year in some significant way. I should probably eat some ice cream right now.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019