1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Wednesday, Oct. 13, 2010 - 20:22

You are interested in my hygiene, and so I will tell you about it.

I'm back on the shampoo. I went without it for about two months, I guess. (I don't like how they call it 'poo-free'.) It just didn't work for me right now. Maybe someday I'll try again.

It's not the theory of shampoo I dislike, it's the creepy chemicals that I don't like, and you can find shampoos without that crap. I'm using some tea tree shampoo from Avalon Organics now, and when I'm done with that I might try some from the local company that I got my face moisturizer from.

I don't know what happened this spring but my forehead broke out in a horrible and obnoxious way - not red, just annoying bumps that wouldn't go away. My old doctor gave me a prescription for an erythromycin-benzoyl peroxide cream, and I used it and used it and nothing happened except it bleached fabric and gave me mad dandruff at the hairline. It was stupid and sad. But now I have a new doctor and I just got a prescription for stuff (sodium sulfacetamide) that 1. works, 2. doesn't bleach clothes, and 3. doesn't dry out my skin. I kind of hope the strange breakout is gone forever so I don't have to use this stuff for very long, but I might have to look into the long-term effects of using this. My esthetician said I should treat my face as if I have rosacea and I have taken that into account. (I don't have rosacea, but I do have very sensitive skin.)

Since I'm not teaching anymore I'm not using antiperspirant again (nasty stuff), just deodorant with pine needles or some such stuff in it. Things are fine.

I got a 6-pack of floss at Costco the other week - that's been awesome.

I guess that's about it. Gotta go read now.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019