1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

MOUSE the third
Tuesday, Aug. 10, 2010 - 20:28

Right now a life-or-death game of cat and mouse is being played out five feet from me. One of the players is a little dog. The other is a bastard mouse. The little dog probably could have gotten the bastard when I lifted up the dog crate except that I was freaking out and trying to cover it all up with the crate again because I was scared that the mouse would run at my feet or the little dog would kill the mouse at my feet and I was barefoot. This time, instead of eeking, I hollered in horror. 'holler' probably has some directional connotation which I'm not intending. I wasn't hollering at anyone or anything specifically, but I was horrified and there was a huskiness to the sound that I think the word 'holler' captures.

So the bastard mouse scrambled under the bookshelf. I could see it, as could the little dog, hiding behind the bins on the lower shelf, so I took the bins out. The little dog sniffed everything and is keeping watch right now.

I printed out the Debussy sheet music today and was just playing it. It's quite suitable for death, I think, but, despite a couple moments of excitement, nothing happened, and the little dog is still keeping watch.

I just got back from track and am hungry and stinky. I need to eat and I need to take a shower. Which I will do. I hope the little dog does not relent.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019