1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

update before bedtime
Monday, Nov. 16, 2009 - 18:48

These days the only pleasure I get from life is when I'm eating string cheese. It is much better when it's been out of the fridge a while.

So I sent in my passport renewal. I might have already told you - I don't remember the last time I typed in here. Maybe last Thursday. I keep forgetting to check the tracking on my passport renewal thingy.

Got home tonight in the dark, made dinner, made tea, fired up the old laptop, and it's only 6:30. This time of year, in its special way, is pretty rad, kind of. I have hours before bedtime, even though it feels like bedtime passed an hour ago.

So it would appear that my idiotic plan to go to Australia for a month is going to happen. Except, seriously, I have no money. I've been working about 60 hours a week for the last three months and have been making less money than I would have if I'd just stuck to one regular 40-hour-a-week job. Three months of being overworked - three months of diminished pay = stupid vacation. But I need a vacation, you see, and I deserve it too, ffs, but cannot pay for it, so fuck it all to hell I'll put it all on my credit card.

It won't be that bad. I will probably eke it out, as usual. I manage to get everything I want, somehow, even though I don't really deserve it. But I deserve to take a month off! Bah!

Here is a list of things I've had to or still have to pay for:

- car insurance (oops, they sent me a cancellation notice)
- Ten Club membership renewal
- passport renewal
- WWOOF membership (and why is it so much more expensive in Australia than other countries?)
- visa
- plane ticket (these are not on sale)
- Christmas presents
- birthday presents for my mom and sister
- wedding present for my sister (maybe I've forgotten to tell you my sister's getting married)
- bridal shower present for my sister (ye gads)
- a dress to wear to the wedding and accoutrements
- bike tune-up
- fleece
- facials (I've decided to get three more)
- haircut (I look like a dog)
- get snowtires mounted
etc.

Also, I'm going to have to move my stuff into storage for two months and should look into that. Also, I'm going to have to find people who will let me stay on their couches for a couple weeks in January and a couple weeks in February (this was easier to accomplish in Seattle even though I've lived here longer). Also, I'm going to have to tell my roommate I'm moving out.

Remember when I was reading The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency? That was nice.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019