1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Friday, Aug. 28, 2009 - 16:05

Everyone's back on campus - this right now is the last working hour before classes start on Monday. I'm trying to keep it an 8-5 M-F thing because it could very easily take over (which was one of my big problems as a student). I'm not freaking out about it as much right now as I have been, although I am still nervous and I do still feel like I have a lot to figure out. But my syllabus is done, for the most part, and the first day of class will be fine. And the second day of class will be fine. I just have to figure out what to do for the third day of class and every day after that.

My classroom - it's a weird time warp. It's a computer lab, but in this big shadowy old room, floors made of wood chips polished to a shine these last 70 years. HUGE room - the corner, a quarter of the floor. The computers are on one side, then there's a conference table near the instructor computer, and then on the other side of the room there's a sitting area and bookshelves (empty) and some maps and it seems very dusty and interesting in an early-1900s academe sort of way.

I am looking forward to the weekend, which is jam-packed. I'll go mow the lawn right now, and my plan was to run 12 miles tonight but unfortunately it's pretty hot.

I know summer's over after this weekend but I haven't freaked out about that like I normally do, probably because I've been too busy worrying about everything else in the entire world. I'll see how it goes but maybe I should have bought some Chinese Happy Pills for this. I know why I haven't been able to sleep, or I know what started it at least. I sent an email to someone saying thanks for the chat, it was nice to catch up.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019