1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

going to get ice cream now
Wednesday, Jul. 29, 2009 - 19:59

"The really unhappy person is the one who leaves undone what they can do, and starts doing what they don't understand; no wonder they come to grief. "
� Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Regarding Friday, and why I'm stressing about something as trivial as that... well...

I realize this: the friends I have here, the uncomplicated friendships I have here, are great. GREAT. Really, my oldest friend here is a dude, and it's an uncomplicated relationship we have. (Or, maybe, given our genders, it is potentially complicated, but there is a line that would have to be crossed in order for the complication to materialize, and since that line has not even been approached it is not complicated.) Dude's been my friend for almost three years now, he's having a party, I'm going to go and have fun. And screw any complications.

Second. If I had a little more perspective I'd be a little more impressed with myself than I am. I just deleted a paragraph about running and how my average race pace has improved over the last couple years... what I mean is, I've been able to accomplish things that I never thought I'd do.

I'm stressed out so much right now, my fingernails are bitten down to China, I don't sleep well, I'm so intimidated and scared of a stupid 20 minute talk I'm doing on Tuesday... and then... teaching a class in the fall. I don't have anything else to say. Stressed.

Rob Brezsny had nice things to say to me this week, though: "In the coming weeks, I really think it's important not to punish yourself for any reason, Pisces, even if it's in a supposedly good cause." Sometimes.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019