1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Iran
Thursday, Jun. 18, 2009 - 21:30

My favorite picture from Iran right now is #17 here. I had Jim O'Rourke's "Women of the World" stuck in my head for three days this week. All those pictures are incredible - they are terrible but I'm more and more a populist and I believe more and more that you can't keep the people down. I hope. I hope it works out for the people of Iran.

The pictures that make me the saddest, I think, are the ones from Tehran University - the dorm rooms, the busted computers. Students were killed - their dorms were stormed and they were killed - and apparently some were buried without their families even knowing. Whether that's true or not, we'll find out when things settle down. But it's so sad and I really, really hope it works out.

The pictures from before the election are heart-wrenching.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019